30 April 2009

Carnegie and Greenaway short lists announced

CILIP - the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals - have released the short lists for this year's Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenaway Medal.

The Andrew Carnegie Medal, named for the Scottish philanthropist, has been awarded annually since 1937 to the writer of "an outstanding book for children." In addition to the gold medal, the winner receives £500 worth of books to donate to a library of his/her choice.

This year's short list consists of:
Cosmic, by Frank Cottrell Boyce* (here)
Black Rabbit Summer, by Kevin Brooks (here)
Airman, by Eoin Colfer (here)
Bog Child, by Siobhan Dowd (here)
Ostrich Boys, by Keith Gray (here)
The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness (here)
Creature of the Night, by Kate Thompson (here)

The Kate Greenaway Medal, named for the nineteenth-century artist, has been awarded annually since 1957 to the illustrator of "an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people." As with the Carnegie Medal, the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of his/her choice; since 2000, the winner has also been awarded the £5000 Colin Mears Award.

This year's short list consists of:
The Snow Goose, written by Paul Gallico and illustrated by Angela Barrett (here)
Varmints, written by Helen Ward and illustrated by Marc Craste (here)
Little Boat, written and illustrated by Thomas Docherty (here)
How to Heal a Broken Wing, written and illustrated by Bob Graham (here)
The Way Back Home, written and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers (here)
The Savage, written by David Almond and illustrated by Dave McKean (here)
Harris Finds His Feet, written and illustrated by Catherine Rayner (here)
Molly and the Night Monster, written and illustrated by Chris Wormell (here)

(Amazon links provided for reference. Most, if not all, are probably also available from Amazon US. Supporting independent booksellers, as always, is recommended.)

The winners will be announced on 25 June.

* Boyce was the winner of the 2004 Carnegie Medal, for his novel Millions.

No comments: