22 September 2009

STS-132 and STS-133 crews announced

Actually, the STS-132 crew was announced a few months ago, but I haven't been paying proper attention to the space programme lately. ZUI this NASA press release dated 14 May 09:
NASA has assigned the crew for space shuttle mission STS-132, targeted for launch in April 2010. This flight will deliver the Russian-built Mini Research Module (MRM1) to the International Space Station.

Navy Capt. Ken Ham will command the shuttle Atlantis for this 11-day mission. Navy Cmdr. Tony Antonelli will serve as the pilot. Mission specialists are Navy Capt. Steve Bowen, Karen Nyberg, Garrett Reisman, and Piers Sellers.

This will be the third spaceflight for Sellers, and the second for each of the others.

Capt Ham (USN). Cdr Antonelli (USN). Capt Bowen (USN). Dr Nyberg. Dr Reisman. Dr Sellers.

For the shuttle programme's final flight, ZUI this press release dated 18 Sep:
NASA has assigned the crew for the last scheduled space shuttle mission, targeted to launch in September 2010. The flight to the International Space Station will carry a pressurized logistics module to the station.

Veteran shuttle commander and retired Air Force Col. Steven W. Lindsey will command the eight-day mission, designated STS-133. Air Force Col. Eric A. Boe will serve as the pilot; it will be his second flight as a shuttle pilot. Mission Specialists are shuttle mission veteran Air Force Col. Benjamin Alvin Drew, Jr., and long-duration spaceflight veterans Michael R. Barratt, Army Col. Timothy L. Kopra and Nicole P. Stott.


Lindsey currently is chief of the Astronaut Office. Long-duration spaceflight veteran and former space station commander Peggy A. Whitson has been named his successor when Lindsey transitions in October to training for his spaceflight. Whitson was a flight engineer aboard the station during Expedition 5 in 2002 and the commander of Expedition 16 in 2007 to 2008.

This will be Lindsey's fifth spaceflight, and the second for each of the others.

Col Lindsey (USAF, ret). Col Boe (USAF). Col Drew (USAF). Dr Barratt. Col Kopra (US Army). Stott.

No comments: