20 July 2007

Living VC holders

The other day, when I wrote my post about Corporal Bill Apiata VC, I mentioned that there were 12 other living holders of the Victoria Cross. Just for the record, here's the complete list:

Lt Col Eric C T Wilson VC, East Surrey Regiment - Somaliland, 1940
WO Tul Bahadur Pun VC, 6th Gurkha Rifles - Burma, 1944
Flt Lt John A Cruickshank VC, RAFVR - North Atlantic, 1944
Maj The Right Hon Sir Tasker Watkins VC GBE, The Welch Regiment - France, 1944
L/Nk Bhanbagta Gurung VC, 2nd King Edward VII's Own Gurkha Rifles - Burma, 1945
Hav Lachhiman Gurung VC, 8th Gurkha Rifles - Burma, 1945
Pte Edward Kenna VC, Australian Imperial Force - New Guinea, 1945
Lt Cdr Ian E Fraser VC DSC, RNR - Johore Strait, 1945
Sgt William Speakman VC, The Black Watch - Korea, 1951
Capt Ram Bahadur Limbu VC MVO, 10th Gurkha Rifles - Indonesia, 1965
WO Keith Payne VC OAM, Australian Army - Vietnam, 1969
Pte Johnson G Beharry VC, Princess of Wales's Royal Regiment - Iraq, 2004
Cpl Bill H Apiata VC, New Zealand SAS - Afghanistan, 2004

No comments: