17 February 2012

New destroyer names announced

The Navy has announced that the next three Arleigh Burke class guided missile destroyers (DDG 113-115) will be named after Medal of Honor recipients John Finn (23 Jul 1909–27 May 2010) and Ralph Johnson (1 Jan 1949–5 Mar 1968), and Navy Cross recipient Rafael Peralta (7 Apr 1979–15 Nov 2004). All three ships are currently under construction; USS John Finn is scheduled for delivery in late 2015, and USS Ralph Johnson in late 2016.

ZUI this article from the Defense Times.

1 comment:

ga_regul8r said...

We are currently building products for BIW and Ingalls to put on those ships. Now I can put a name to the projects. I'll pass the word along at work. Thanks.