27 April 2010

Carnegie and Greenaway short lists announced

CILIP - the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals - have released the short lists for this year's Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenaway Medal.

The Andrew Carnegie Medal, named for the Scottish philanthropist, has been awarded annually since 1937 to the writer of "an outstanding book for children." In addition to the gold medal, the winner receives £500 worth of books to donate to a library of his/her choice.

This year's short list consists of:
Chains, by Laurie Halse Anderson
Bloomsbury (Age range 11+)

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
Bloomsbury (Age range 9+)

The Vanishing of Katharina Linden, by Helen Grant
Penguin (Age range 14+)

Rowan the Strange, by Julie Hearn
Oxford University Press (Age range 12+)

The Ask and the Answer, by Patrick Ness
Walker (Age range 14+)

Nation, by Terry Pratchett
Doubleday (Age range 11+)

Fever Crumb, by Philip Reeve
Scholastic (Age range 9+)

Revolver, by Marcus Sedgwick
Orion (Age range 12+)

Pratchett and Reeve have both received the Carnegie Medal before, Pratchett for The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents (2001) and Reeve for Here Lies Arthur (2008). The Graveyard Book was last year's winner of the Newbery Medal; if it wins the Carnegie it will be the first book to receive both medals. (Sharon Creech is the only author thus far to hold both medals, but they were awarded for different books in different years.)

The Kate Greenaway Medal, named for the nineteenth-century artist, has been awarded annually since 1957 to the illustrator of "an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people." As with the Carnegie Medal, the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of his/her choice; since 2000, the winner has also been awarded the £5000 Colin Mears Award.

This year's short list consists of:
Leon and the Place Between, illustrated by Grahame Baker-Smith and written by Angela McAllister
Templar (Age range: 8+)

Harry & Hopper, illustrated by Freya Blackwood and written by Margaret Wild
Scholastic (Age range: 6+)

The Great Paper Caper, by Oliver Jeffers
HarperCollins (Age range: 4+)

Millie's Marvelous Hat, by Satoshi Kitamura
Andersen (Age range:4+ )

Crazy Hair, illustrated by Dave McKean and written by Neil Gaiman
Bloomsbury (Age range: 6+)

The Graveyard Book, illustrated by Chris Riddell and written by Neil Gaiman
Bloomsbury (Age range: 9+)

The Dunderheads, illustrated by David Roberts and written by Paul Fleischman
Walker (Age range: 8+)

There are Cats in This Book, by Viviane Schwarz
Walker (Age range: 2+)

Riddell has already received the Greenaway Medal twice, for Pirate Diary (2001) and Jonathan Swift's “Gulliver” (2004). And there's The Graveyard Book again. (No book or author/illustrator has yet won both the Carnegie and the Greenaway.)

(Amazon UK links provided for reference. Most, if not all, are probably also available from Amazon US. Supporting independent booksellers, as always, is recommended.)

The winners will be announced on 24 June.

No comments: